The 64th Executive Committee and 20th General Assembly Meetings of SAARC CCI

The 64th Executive Committee and 20thGeneral Assembly of SAARC CCI was held in a joint session on 8th December 2015 at Islamabad, Pakistan.

The meeting was hosted by Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FPCCI). Executive and General Assembly members of SAARC CCI representing National Chambers / Federations from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka attended the meeting. The meeting waschairedby Mr. Suraj Vaidya, President-in-charge, SAARC CCI.

(L-R) Mian Muhammad Idrees, President FPCCI, Mr. Tissa Jayaweera, Vice President, (Sri Lanka Chapter), SAARC CCI, Mrs. Shaista P. Malik, Chairperson, SCWEC, Dr. Mufta Ismail, Chairmain BOI (Pakistan), Mr. Suraj Vaidya, President (In-Charge), SAARC CCI, Mr. Iqbal Tabish, Secretary General and Mr. Iftikhar Ali Malik, Vice President of SAARC CCI.

Prior to the formal opening ofEC and GA,Hon’ble Dr. Mufta Ismail, Special Assistant to Prime Minister and Chairman, Board of Investment (Pakistan) addressed the members.  Dr. Ismail said that South Asian economies need strong economic management and need to tap enormous potential available. He added that region should take benefit from investment opportunities in Pakistan as such the country was land of tremendous opportunities for foreign investors. He identified copper, hydrocarbon resources, mining, energy as the most attractive sectors for investment besides huge manpower and large market.

Miftah Ismail stated that due to policies of the current Government, the investment to GDP ratio has improved from 13 percentto 15.1 percent in two years, whereas internationally recognized institutions like Standards and Poor, Moodies and prominent economic magazines had appreciated the country's economic performance.  Mr. Ismail said the total investment in the country also increased from US $35 billion last year to $38 billion this year.

The meeting was attended by Mr. Mohammad YounisMohmand, Vice President ( Afgahnistan), Mrs. ThinleyLham, Executive Member and Mr. Tashi Dendup, GA Member (Bhutan) Mr. ShafquatHaider, EC Member (Bangladesh), Mr. M. K. Saharia, special Life time member ( India) Mr. R B Runair, EC member(Nepal), Mr. Iftikhar Ali Malik, Vice President SAARC CCI, Mr. Mian Muhammad Idrees, President, FPCCI, Mr. SaifuddinZoomkawala, EC Member, Mr. Zubair Ahmed Malik, EC Member and Vice Chair SAARC CCI Headquarter Building Committee, Mr. Zafar Bakhtawari, GA Member, Mr. Hamyun Saeed, EC member, Mr. ZahidMaqbool, GA Member, Mr. Hameed Akhtar Chadda, EC Member, Mrs. Shaista Pervaiz Malik, Chairperson, SCWEC, Mr. Tariq Mahmood, GA Member, Mr. Pervaiz Lala, GA member, Mr. Atif Ikram Sheikh, EC Members of SAARC CCI Pakistan, while Mr. MackyHashim, Former President, SAARC CCI, Mr. AjithWattuhewa, President, FCCISL and Mr. TissaJayaweera, VP-SAARC CCI ( Sri Lanka) attended the meeting in addition to Mr. Zia Azizi (ACCI) and Mr. Ameet Kumar (FICCI) who represented their respective organizations.

Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry also hosted a dinner in honor of SAARC CCI delegates which was also attended by business community of Islamabad and the representatives from diplomatic missions from South Asian countries.

Picture Gallery

S5 Box